Love Letters to the Dead

20160207_152946

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Author: Ava Dellaira

Synopsis: Everything begins with an assignment for English class: “Write a letter to a dead person”. It’s Laurel’s first days in a new school and she feels scared and empty. Her emptiness is caused by her sister, May, who died, leaving her only with pain. Laurel decides to write to Kurt Cobain, her sister’s favourite singer. But that first letter, which she’ll never give to the teacher, will be followed up by many other letters, to Amy Whinehouse, Heath Ledger, River Phoenix… People her sister loved. And, like May, died too soon. People who can listen what Laurel has to say and help her realize the truth she never dared to face. And she’ll finally learn how to love herself and find the courage to go on. Because life is there, in front of her.

Review: I have mixed feelings about this book. The plot was really good, I enjoyed the concept of the story. However, I’m not really fond of the writing style.

A lot of the people who read the book complained about the fact that the plot felt a lot like “The Perks of being a Wallflower” by Stephen Chbosky, and I don not agree. Yes, they’re both epistolary books; and yes, in both of them the protagonist has to face the death of a close person. But I think that the stories are actually, mostly because Leaurel has to go through the death of her sister, and not just a friend. On the downside, I didn’t enjoy the writing style of this book. At all. The pacing was way too fast. I managed to read the whole book (more than 300 pages) in one single day, and I’m not a very fast reader. It felt like the author was rushing me to finish the book. Plus, it’s not very clear the time the book’s set in. Is it the 90s? Is it 2014 (the year the book was released)? I still can’t figure it out.

Overall, the book’s not bad. I gave it 3 stars because of the writing, but if you can go past that, the story is actually good.

Anyways, I wanted to apologize because my last post was over a month ago. And to be honest, this is the second book I’ve read since my last wrap-up post (and this explains the lack of those). I’d love to blame my negligence on school, homework, tests and so on, but the truth is I am a master procrastinator and I’ve been in a huge book-hangover. I hope I’m getting out of it, and I hope to be more active on the blog aswell. But for now…goodbye!

Leave a Reply

