When Marnie Was There

Hello everybody! Today I’m gonna review When Marnie Was There, the new Studio Ghibli film. I am a massive fan of Studio Ghibli. I’ve seen most of the movies and own the DVDs, so it’s no surprise I liked this one, too.

normal_Howls-Moving-Castle_0001

The plot was very complicated. The basic storyline is that Anna, an adopted twelve-year-old girl who suffers of asthma, moves to some family friend’s house in the countryside for the summer. There she meets Marnie and the two immediately become friends. I want to keep this review as spoiler-free as possible, but I’m gonna tell you that I wasn’t understanding a thing of the plot for 3/4 of the movie. Then it all made sense. I know it’s based off of a book, so it’s probably a lot more clear in the book.

PicsArt_1440516491554

The art was on point. It was amazing. The director, Hiromasa Yonebayashi (who also directed Arrietty or The Secret World of Arrietty) did a wonderful job. The soundtrack, too. I especially enjoyed the credits because they played Fine On The Outside which is my favourite song from the Whole entire movie and there were screencaps from the movie.

I really enjoyed it overall, but I don’t think it’s one of their best movies.

Rating: 7 out of 10

Leave a Reply

