La Casa dei Sogni

20150626_173045

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Author: Marzia Bisognin (aka CutiePieMarzia)

Synopsis: Amethyst is in front of a beautiful neo-classic styled house, not able to remember how she got there and why she feels like she’s never been there before. That house exerts a magnetic attraction on her, it is the house of her dreams: elegant, Majestic and surrounded by perfect gardens. She doesn’t know what to do, she can neither push herself to ring the doorbell, nor go away. Suddenly, a couple of elders appears on the doorstep and they invite her in. And so begins the Amethyst’s journey inside this mysterious house, the home of terrifying and incredible presences that will help her discover the terrible truth.

Review: Let me start saying that I am a big fan of Marzia, she’s one of my role models and a very big inspiration. Her book isn’t quite what I would have expected, but it was still good.

The synopsis is very intriguing. I don’t personally like the cover, I find it Worth of a children book, not a thriller/horror book and I really can’t stand the sentence they put under the title: “From the most famous Italian youtuber all around the world, CutiePieMarzia”. There’s no need to tell me she’s the most famous Italian youtuber. I’m not going to buy the book just because she’s a famous youtuber.

The book is also really cheap, it costs €9.90 and it’s a hardcover which usually costs from €14.90 to even €18!

Anyway, let’s get into the content of the book.

The writing was pretty good, even though there were a few typos. I really enjoyed the plot, I found it very original and unique. However, I find this book more a thriller than a horror book. There weren’t scary parts, but the mysterious factor was a main part throughout the book. The last plot twist, I kind of expected it but not really. It was my first book of this genre, and it made me want to read the Wayward Pines trilogy do bad!

All things considered, I really enjoyed this book and I would definitely recommend it. I think it may be more enjoyable for people who want to get into this genre but haven’t read a lot of thriller/horror books.

One thought on “La Casa dei Sogni

  1. I’ve read this book recently and I agree with some things you said. The style is not bad (even though there are some big grammatical mistakes – at least in the kindle version) and I really liked the detail about the house. At the same time there are some things that are not perfect, the end was not so hard to imagine, even though some things have been a surprise, and the plot was a little bit boring at some time (at least for me). Like you I think it is more a psychological thriller than an horror story (and the cover is not so nice) 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

