Looking for Alaska

20150601_110601 (1)

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Author: John Green

Synopsis: Miles Halter is a solitary boy fond of biographies and famous people’s las words. He leaves home to find his “Great Perhaps” at Culver Creek, a boarding school in Alabama, but instead he meets Alaska. She’s brilliant, funny, unpredictable, crazy and very sexy and she becomes Miles’s enigma and obsession.

Review (SPOILERS): First of all, don’t worry. If you’re interested in buying the book your cover won’t look as creepy as mine. They’ve made lots of better ones by now, that was the original one from when it came out in Italy.

But let’s focus on the book now.

At first, I didn’t like Alaska at all. She was annoying and acted so cool but I thought it was all just appearance. I started to like her after her death, and now I can even relate to her! She wasn’t a shallow person and she made such deep thoughts, but she didn’t share them so we get to know them only in the middle of the story. Another thing that made me like Alaska was her back story. Her visiting her mom’s grave every year was touching.

One of my favourite things about the book is that it’s divided in days (like a diary), and the days in the first part of the book are a count down to Alaska’s death while the days in the second part of the book are an account of the days after her death (it’s like the BC and AC thing).

I like that the characters use swearwords a lot, because it’s a real image of the society nowadays. On the other hand, one thing that I didn’t like at all was Alaska’s death. It’s not because she dies, I can understand that, but we don’t get to know what was the truth. Did she commit suicide? Was she too drunk and didn’t see the truck? I want to know! I think it was the point of the book. She’s been a mystery since the first page we read about her and she’ll always be, but I’m still curious.

I liked this book but I think it’s that kind of book you appreciate better after finishing it (at least, that was what I’ve experienced) and I recommend it.

Memorable quote: “You spend your whole life stuck in the labyrinth, thinking about how’ll you escape it one day, and how awesome it will be, and imagining that future keeps you going, but you never do it. You just use the future to escape the present”

One thought on “Looking for Alaska

Leave a Reply

